Early Years (EYFS)

We believe children are more likely to reach their full potential as learners if they are happy and secure and have a sense of well being. The EYFS provides a learning environment that encourages interest and concentration, initiative and independence, good behaviour, sensitivity to others and a care for their surroundings.

The curriculum for EYFS children is based on 3 Areas of Learning laid down by the Department for education (DfE) in the Foundation Stage:

  • Communication & Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development

It is supported by 4 Specific Areas of Learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design

There are 3 characteristics of effective learning which support the 7 areas:

  • Playing & Exploring (engagement)
  • Active Learning (motivation)
  • Creating and Thinking Critically (thinking)

The emphasis is on educating the whole child, with the focus on the child’s attitude to learning and the skills involved. We recognise children develop at their own rate and in their own ways; this is encouraged and supported by the curriculum and the EYFS team. We work flexibly and in conjunction with each child’s parents.

We believe our curriculum, environment and staff provide the children with the opportunity to flourish and develop in their early years at Chenies School.